About the book relating the experiences of Devotees of Swami Vishwananda

A precious diamond

In the summer of 2007 I went to Swami Vishwananda’s spiritual center in Germany for a longer period of time than ever before. Back then, I was still going to school and I wished to spend half of my summer holidays with Swamiji. It was just half a year ago that we had met for the very first time, and yet it felt as if we knew each other for ages. My heart told me that he was my Guru. I never doubted this for a second. But during this summer I became aware of the relevance of the Guru. It became clear to me that having a Guru does not only mean to call someone Guruji and to bow down to his feet, but that there is a person who loves you unconditionally and who does everything to help you to realize your true self. But this also means that first of all our ego needs to be controlled, and this can be at times excruciatingly painful.

Once that summer, I had just come out of the chapel and Swami was sitting on a white chair in the hallway. He said: “Come and sit with me.” Next to him there was an empty seat. But I sat down on the floor. After a short moment of silence he said to me: “Don´t be worried, everything will be fine, OK?” I answered: “OK.” But mentally I was wondering what was going to happen with me. After another moment of silence he turned around to call another boy of about my age. The other boy came and sat down on the empty chair. A short talk about superficial subjects developed between the boy and Swamiji. I tried to participate but they ignored me.

After they finished their conversation Swamiji waved to the boy to follow him into the chapel. I did not know whether to stay where I was or to leave. After about three minutes I decided to leave. I had just gotten up when the other boy came out of the chapel and showed me his right hand with a big smile on his face. On his ring finger there was the biggest and shiniest diamond I have ever seen. I smiled back. But inwardly I felt sad and hurt. “Why does Swamiji not materialize a ring for me?“ Such were my thoughts. Later I realized that he had foreseen this inner conflict in me by saying that everything will be fine. Today, I know that it was my hurt ego which had caused me pain and sadness. And I know that the gift of his teaching that I had received from him was worth much more than any diamond. This is what we need to move closer to God.

I remember the speech Swami gave at the darshan in Friedrichshafen, when I met him for the first time. He said that the most beautiful and precious treasures and jewels of the ocean always are at the deepest spots and that humans do everything to get to them. We have also to dive deep into the ocean of our heart to get to the most precious jewel there is- Love.

Dyutidharananda – Germany

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

